ARLINGTON GUN ACADEMY
SAFETY -  EDUCATION -  CERTIFICATION

 
 
 
All Class Enrollment is Done Online and Pre-registration is Required.
Minimum Number of Students Required Per Class in Order for Class to be Held.
  LICENSE TO CARRY CLASS

$80

This is the State of Texas required class in order to submit your application for a License to Carry Permit.

This class covers the required legal information and shooting proficiency requirements of the State of Texas.  In order to complete this class successfully, a student must pass a written and shooting proficiency test (175/250 pts) 70% accuracy with a firearm of greater than .32 caliber. The shooting proficiency test will consist of 50 rounds of timed fire on the state specified target. 20 rounds at 3 yards 20 rounds at 7 yards and 10 rounds at 15 yards.
 

   STEP 1  

Using the Book Now button on the upper right, fill-in the form, enter your name, phone number and Texas Drivers License / ID number and Book and Pay for your class registration online.  3 days before your class, you will receive an email reminder.


   STEP 2  

Prior to attending the course please complete the appropriate online application with TXDPS:
  Go to the License to Carry section and

      a)  click on Apply for New License
           New State License Standard Fee: $140* 
      or
      View any applicable discounts here.


For assistance with the online License to Carry a Handgun Application, please call
 (512) 424-7293 or send an email to Regulatory Services Division

*To view State of Texas fees and Discounts click here:
Texas State CHL Fee Schedule

 

   STEP 3  

Texas DPS requires Electronic Fingerprints to be done. All applicants will have to submit fingerprints electronically through IdentoGo  AFTER completing their online applicant submission to TX DPS (in Step 1 above).  IdentoGo charges $9.95 for this service.

 


  What you will need to bring to class: 

  • Valid Texas Drivers License / ID

  • Notepad and pen

  • Baseball Cap, Hearing Protection and Eye Protection

  • 1 firearm with 50 rounds of ammunition (non-steel core)
    (If you don't have your own firearm, you can rent one at the range - $11)

  • Receipt for payment of your fee and registration with the state

 

  TX DPS Resources :

 

  Appropriate Dress: 

  • Collared Shirt

  • Long Pants

  • Close toed shoes

  • Ball cap

  • Eye protection

  • Ear protection


  Requirements to apply: 

  • A resident of U.S.A., Legal Resident Alien, Permanent Resident Alien - Proper ID Required.

  • 21 and legally able to buy a handgun under both Federal and State law.
  • 18 year olds active in Military Service
  • Not judged to be chemically dependent or of unsound mind.
  • Not ever convicted of a felony anywhere, and no convictions of a Class A or B misdemeanor or Disorderly Conduct  in the past 5 years.
  • Not subject to a restraining or protective order.
  • Not delinquent in payment of taxes, child support or any money collected by any Government entity.
  • Out of state residents may apply for a non-resident license if they meet all other requirements listed above.


You must qualify using a .32 caliber or larger.

Length of Course :  6 hours

Class Type
License to Carry
Select Class Date
Full Name
Contact Phone
TX Drivers License #
 

ACADEMY RULES:

  1. Absolutely   NO  live ammunition in the classroom
  2. All firearms and magazines are to be clear and unloaded before bringing them into the facility.
  3. No alcohol or drug use prior to or during entire class time.
  4. No profane language or racial slurs will be tolerated.
  5. Head cover-cap or hat that will cover the head and the area toward the face (such as a baseball cap)
  6. Footwear shall be of a type that the entire foot is covered
  7. Handguns

    a) Revolvers of at least .32 caliber (no push off on single action will be accepted)

    b) Semi-automatics of at least .9mm caliber

    c) All handguns should be in good repair and have no modification(s) that will make the handgun less safe

    d) Make sure you are familiar with your handgun

    e) Make sure you zero your handgun as there is no time allotted in class for this

    f) No laser sights or optics will be allowed on firearms to complete shooting proficiency

  8. Ammunition--NO RELOADED AMMUNITION WILL BE ALLOWED

    a) SAAMI Specification (See attached list)

    b) A minimum of 50 rounds of ammunition for each sidearm*

  9. No shorts will be allowed on the pistol range for safety purposes
  10. Wear a shirt with a collar to the range

Arlington Gun Academy reserves the right to refuse to teach any student or participant and/or ask them to leave the classroom at anytime due to a violation of these rules. 

*You need to provide your own ammunition for additional opportunities if you fail to qualify the first time.